The Paper Chase, A Horror Film for 0Ls

February 16, 2011 at 2:37 pm (Misc.)

I’ve heard much talk about the coveted film, “The Paper Chase.” So much buzz that I was beginning to feel embarrassed to admit I had never seen it!  So when it arrived via Netflix last weekend I was quite eager to see what all the fuss was about.  I figured that a movie that is nearly 40 years old and still popular now must be pretty darn good.  Well, the movie was good, but I was fraught with horror!  Did the Socratic Method scare me? Nope.  Did the study groups scare me? Nope.  It didn’t even scare me that Hart’s classmates seemed to be dropping like flies among him.  What frightened me was that Hart fought so hard to survive Kingsfield’s class that after exams he was so turned off by law school that he didn’t even care to see his final grades! Imagine, spending so much time and effort that in the end you just don’t give a hoot anymore. That scares me.

4 Comments

  1. Marc said,

    I know what you mean. I thought the same thing when I saw the movie. It turns out that classes are a whole lot more laid back nowadays. I think the worst you will get would be of the “Legally Blonde” variety. I never saw a student asked to leave class, but I did see one reduced to tears, for which the professor later apologized.

    No need to be afraid. Just try any of the forums to see law students talking about grades. 😉

  2. LawSchoolDreamer said,

    Thanks, Marc! I just read your section on the Socratic Method and what to expect on the first day of class, very hepful!

    • Marc said,

      Thanks, we should have the Free – Guide to Law School Admissions book available in a few weeks.

  3. Lisa Bernice Schmidt said,

    I remember that movie, I saw it when I was a kid and it scared the bejeezus out of me. I’d still like to be a lawyer but thanks to “The Paper Chase”, I’ve never been sure whether I’d make it through law school.

Leave a Reply

