Last, But Certainly Not Least

January 21, 2011 at 1:57 am (Choosing a law school, Personal Thoughts)

The day of my Grandma’s funeral had been bittersweet.  I was truly mourning her death but also celebrating her life.  I was able to spend many hours with her before she passed. I thought to myself how fortunate I was that I had no regrets about my last moments with her.  When I returned home from the funeral, I became regretful. 

I had received my final law school response.

There is just one law school in this nation that my Grandma would have been particularly delighted if I was admitted.  I applied really to spare myself the “what if?” question. But I knew there was no chance I would get in. While my GPA is above the 75th percentile for “Prestigious School of Law,” my LSAT is about 10 points below their 25th.  Getting waitlisted would have been an honor.  It is afterall, a top 25 law school. Because I grew up just 2 miles away, I always admired from afar but always knew (or so I thought) that I would never feel what it would be like to be a part of that institution.   And, I’m in. . . With a 50% scholarship.

I just wish that this could have come just one week before, so I could tell Grandma.  Whether I will go, I am unsure. On several visits I have felt inferior, out-of-place, and in comparison – poor. I also do not know how I would ever come up with the other $25,000 per year needed to cover tuition, books, and fees.  I am still committed to doing the work I feel I am called to do and do not want to lose sight of this by crippling debt.  On the other hand, a degree from this school may open many more doors than any other school to which I have been accepted. The question is, are those doors anything I want to walk through anyway?

1 Comment

  1. Lindsey said,

    Oh wow…what a great post. I am so happy that you were accepted to this school. It stinks that it didn’t happen one week earlier, but I bet your Grandma is smiling down on you right now, rejoicing at your success. 🙂

    Rooting for you, and I can’t wait to see where you decide to attend!

Leave a Reply

