Apparently, I’m supposed to know what I want in 5 years.

November 23, 2010 at 2:27 pm (Choosing a law school)

So if you’ve been following my blog, you know I’ve gotten myself into a particularly good dilemma. I have 3 full ride scholarships to 3 schools I would love to attend.  These schools are: Big City School of Law, Capitol City School of Law, and Small Town School of Law. All are right around the same area rankings-wise, employment after graduation, bar passage, and post graduation salary.   They each have their positives and all have very few negatives.  I’m feeling like picking a law school is a lot like picking the perfect husband.  My girlfriends and I used to joke that if only there was a way to take the good things we liked about a particular guy, and replace the bad with good parts from another guy, we could essentially form the most ideal mate ever. Boy, I really wish I could do that with law schools.

I sought the help of some of the attorneys at my firm.  Each drilled me with questions in hopes of helping me realize which school I really would prefer to attend. I thought, “Is this what the Socratic Method is like? Drilling me until I find the truest answer possible?”  Each attorney commonly asked the same questions:

  1. What do you want to do with your law degree?
  2. Where do you want to use your law degree?
  3. Which city do you most want to live in for 3 years, and possibly for the rest of your career? (YIKES!)

And my responses:

  1. I want to help people, and/or animals. I want to be their advocate and particularly I want to help people in ways they cannot help themselves.  (Ie. I want to do all the things one can do with a law degree – so this response was no help).
  2. Um, anywhere.
  3. I like all three cities. *Sigh*

Clarity? Not so much.

One thing I do know is, it freaks me out that where I choose to go to law school will likely determine how I use my law degree, where I use my law degree, and where I will live.  This is a major decision. A crystal ball would be pretty helpful right about now.

My biggest fear is picking the wrong school. I hate regret. I certainly do not want to arrive at Small Town School of Law and regret not attending Big City School of Law.  I’ve visited all three schools, and I plan to attend the admitted students day for each school in hopes to either eliminate and/or feel a little more passionate about attending one over the other three.  Fortunately, I have until April 1 to make a final decision.  Yet, I keep dwelling over my fate as though I have to make a decision now. Please, don’t get me wrong; I’m VERY happy to be in this position. I’m not complaining, I promise. But, I am very confused and want to make absolutely certain I make the best possible choice.

1 Comment

  1. Fridays From the Frontline « Clear Admit: Law School Admissions Blog said,

    […] Law School Dreamer wished she  could combine the three schools to which she has been accepted into one school with all of their strengths and none of their weaknesses. Danielle summarized what her life has been like for the past few months and decided to take a step […]

Leave a Reply

