Pondering the law school experience.

November 15, 2010 at 4:30 pm (Law School Life)

So now that I know I’m going somewhere (based on my one acceptance thus far) I’ve moved on from thinking about what it will be like to be accepted, to what it will be like to actually be in law school. Similarly, my reading list has moved from tips on the application process, to tips on succeeding in law school.  I recently came across this free mini book sponsored by the UMKC School of Law which has been very informative and helpful – so I thought I would pass along the find.

I also watched “All About Law School” which is a fun (though sometimes cheesy) compilation of law student interviews on their experiences with everything from preparedness, snarkism, and the socratic method. At times, the advice and opinions conflict, so the DVD editors noted the “majority” and “minority” opinions on the issue.

I’ve also been thinking a lot about how I want others to perceive me. Do I want my classmates to recognize my hard work ethic and dedication to my studies? I question this because while I want to earn the respect of my colleagues, I do not want to be taken advantage of – a problem I struggle with daily in undergrad. If I chose to go to the law school where I was offered the full ride, I think I’d like this to be kept a secret. I also want to try to lose the “freshman 15” I gained a few years back. If I’m in the top 1/3 of my class do I want this to be known? Will this make me a “target” of gunners? Its a lot to think about. I’d love to hear from some of you current law students on your insights or perhaps a reading recommendation.

2 Comments

  1. Mrs. said,

    “Law School Confidential” gives a good summary of the law school experience as a whole and offers helpful advice about note taking, briefing, and outlining. “Getting to Maybe” is awesome for exam prep and strategies. Congrats on your acceptances!

Leave a Reply

