I am officially going to law school.

September 19, 2010 at 12:42 am (Applying to Law School)

I received my first law school acceptance today.  Not only did I receive an acceptance, but I received a full-ride scholarship valued at $113,400.  I never expected this. When I retrieved my mail today and saw the large white envelope with the ever-identifiable law school logo my hands shook – I knew it had to be an acceptance.  But when I read the letter informing me that I had been granted a scholarship for the full amount of tuition in honor of one of the founders of the law school, tears poured down my face. I’m speechless.

11 Comments

  1. Kara said,

    Congratulations to you! That is wonderful that not only were you accepted, but you got a FULL RIDE!! You must have really impressed them–WAY TO GO!

  2. Derek Roberti said,

    Congratulations! I’ve been following your journey in stealth mode, but I had to pipe up when I saw this post. This bodes well for your remaining applications. I look forward to seeing what happens next. Best wishes!

    • lawschooldreamer said,

      Hi Derek! Thanks for coming out of “stealth mode!” I hope you will continue to enjoy my blog and feel free to comment anytime!

  3. Kate Sherwood said,

    How wonderful! Congratulations! I can’t even imaging how overjoyed you must be (because I would have flat out fainted when I read those words). 🙂

  4. Lindsey Christmas said,

    Holy guacamole!!!!! Congratulations lady!!!!! I am so excited for you, you deserve this! 🙂

  5. lawschooldreamer said,

    Thanks everyone! I’m so ecstatic! And totally shocked! I really was not expecting this at all.

  6. Practical Paralegalism said,

    Many, many kudos to you! My favorite attorney in the world was a paralegal for eight years, and went to law school at night. People who have experienced the law firsthand make the best law students and lawyers! And not having to worry about student loan debt will certainly take a load off 🙂 I am so excited for you.

  7. Sandi Becker said,

    Congratulations! But if I may ask, exactly what is your GPA to get a full ride scholarship? One of the things holding me back from attendng law school (besides an extreme fear of the LSAT) is the cost of law school. You see, I’m much, much older than you and the thought of owing on student loans into my 60’s is frightening. I enjoy your blog and look forward to taking this journey (even if it is vicariously) with you.

    • lawschooldreamer said,

      Hi Sandi – I have a 3.8 GPA. Your potential for a scholarship is subjective on the school that your applying to. Its all about where you fall within a school’s median numbers. For this particular school, my GPA and LSAT are well above their median. But for a higher-ranked school, my numbers are below the median and thus would be less likely to receive a scholarship.

      Thanks for your comment and for following me journey, Sandi! Don’t let the lsat (or fear of it) keep you from achieving your dreams.

  8. Laura said,

    Hi, congratulations, what a blessing!
    I just wanted to ask you what school did you get accepted to?

    • LawSchoolDreamer said,

      Thank you Laura! I’m trying to stay somewhat anonymous so I don’t want to reveal the school at this time but I can tell you its a wonderful (albeit, lesser ranked) school in a larger city.

Leave a Reply

