I. Hate. Haters.

July 30, 2010 at 5:45 pm (Misc.)

Apparently the news of my wishing to attend law school has spread like wildfire throughout my firm.  I had kept my aspirations a secret for two years, fielded questions about what I was hoping to do with my political science degree, and whether I still saw a future for myself working as a paralegal at my firm.  Among many reasons, the main reason for me keeping things under wraps was my own fear and anxiety.  I was afraid that if I told anyone about my goals and bombed the LSAT or wasn’t able to get-in to law school I would be too embarrassed to face the attorneys I work with, much less the other secretaries and paralegals at my firm (who would likely snicker at me). 

So I waited until I received my LSAT score back and could be assured I would at least get in somewhere.  That was a month ago.  Since then, I told two attorneys, and now the entire support staff seem to not only know, but to make this news priority among the latest office gossip.  Which, apparently, is causing quite a stir with the partners too.  In the last two weeks I have: 1) received congratulations from my co-workers; 2) confided in that they at one point had similar aspirations and regret not “going for it”; 3) asked if I need my head examined; and 4) talked about in my presence (hiding behind a bathroom stall).

This morning I arrived at the office to receive the following email from our office manager:

Law School Dreamer –

While the partners and I are happy to hear about your decision to attend law school and your recent success on the LSAT, we are concerned that the news has become the center of increased “chit-chat” throughout the firm.  This decreases productivity and could create tension among your co-workers.  If possible, please refrain from discussing your aspirations and future plans at the workplace.

Best,

Office Manager

10 Comments

  1. idwsj said,

    yowzas.

  2. Lindsey Christmas said,

    I am so sorry that you’re having to go through this. I have not told anyone about my plan to go to law school either for the same reasons. I just want you to know that there will always be haters, or dream killers like I like to call them. Just keep your focus. One of my favorite quotes is this:

    There are so many people out there who will tell you that you can’t. What you’ve got to do is turn around and say “watch me”.

  3. Lindsey Christmas said,

    ***Oops, I meant anyone at work about my plan for law school. I write about it on my blog a lot.***

  4. lawschooldreamer said,

    Thanks Lindsey. I’m regretting “coming out” of the closet (with my decision to attend law school). I guess I should have known there would be some animosity among the support staff. Its not that I don’t think working as a paralegal or secretary is great, I just want more.

  5. J.D. Lifeline said,

    Wow… My advice. Stay focused and remember that some people wish they had the courage to embark on the journey that you are on – especially in this situation. Been there, done that. Keep your head up!

  6. Eliza said,

    Wowzer…what a bitch.

    Good luck on law school!

  7. Chere Estrin said,

    Love this story. We’d like permission to reprint it in KNOW, The Magazine for Paralegals.

    Thanks.

    • LawSchoolDreamer said,

      Hello, Chere!

      I am honored you have found my blog! I would be delighted if you wold consider reprinting my story in KNOW, so long as my anonymity remains in-tact.

      Best,
      LawSchoolDreamer

Leave a Reply

