How I Prepped for the June, 2010 LSAT

July 1, 2010 at 6:32 pm (LSAT Prep)

I’ve had a few requests to share my preparation strategy for the June, 2010 LSAT.  I’m flattered that some of you want to know how I prepped, but remember, there are a lot of test takers (35% to be exact) who scored even higher than I. But in a nutshell, I read the Powerscore Logical Reasoning Bible, the Powerscore Logic Games Bible, and the Official LSAT Superprep. If you apply for, and are granted a fee waiver, the Official LSAT Superprep is free from the Law School Admissions Council. I studied entirely on my own without the aid of a prepcourse or study-buddy.

I was most concerned about the analytical reasoning (a/k/a “Logic Games”) portion of the LSAT because on my practice test I only managed to attack two games, and answered correctly about half of the questions I attempted (lets just say it was single-digits).  So I read the Powerscore Logic Games Bible first, and then I purchased logic games organized by game type through Cambridge LSAT.  I spent about a month working on mastering each logic game type, and then panicked when I realized I was only two months away from the LSAT.  So I took a bunch of timed practice tests, and got frustrated.  (I would recommend waiting until you’ve fully acquired or at least learned the skills needed to do well on the LSAT before jumping into timed practice tests).  I then took a few untimed practice tests, and this really improved my score.  I also went back through the Powerscore Logical Reasoning Bible and made flashcards to help me remember the different question types and the strategies for each individual question type. Powerscore actually sells flashcards, but I find that by making them on my own, I’m learning the material while creating the cards, and while testing myself.

All together, I took fourteen practice tests, only four of those were untimed.  The rest were strictly timed with 35 minute sections, but most only included 4 sections (the unscored experimental is the fifth section, not necessarily appearing fifth, but it is “a” fifth section).

In hindsight, as I previously mentioned, I wish I would have spent more time learning the skills before jumping into timed tests and getting frustrated.  Also, I wish I would have spent more time reviewing my practice tests and really determining which question types I’m struggling with and forcing myself to realize why a particular answer choice was incorrect (or in LSAT speak, “uncredited.”)

One of the most key tips I can give anyone who is self-studying is to make a syllabus or schedule of assignments and deadlines that must be met.  If you don’t think you can hold yourself accountable, have a friend check in on you.  Ideally, you know someone who is also studying for the LSAT and will understand how serious it is that you stay on track.  Also, do not ever think you do not have time to prep.  Remember, I work full-time and take full-time classes.  I got up early (sometimes 4:30 a.m.) to begin my day.  A friend of mine in cyber world also has a crazy schedule and one of the ideas he had was that even if you do not have time to take full, timed practice tests, if you can just take even one timed section every day, from Monday through Friday, you will have completed a full test in a work-week.  Of course, it is important to at some point sit down and take an entire test in one sitting to get the idea of the timing and how exhausting it can be, but this is a great way to make progress in under an hour each day (if you also take the time to review each 35-minute timed section).

1 Comment

  1. Paralegal Hell said,

    Great tips. Especially since we both seem to love the Logic Games of the stupid test.
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

