Results are In! I’m a Happy Girl!

June 26, 2010 at 5:44 pm (LSAT Prep)

Yesterday around 2:30 there were reports of June 2010 LSAT takers receiving their scores.  My feelings toward receiving my score went from “oh please just give me the darn score” to “oh wait, no, I’m not ready, not yet!”  I checked my LSAC.org account and my pop-up link buttons turned from green to grey and then the “email score date” changed from June 28, 2010 to June 25, 2010.  But like it or not – it came. And I’m one happy girl!  I received my score around 5:00. 

My best ever timed practice test was 153.  My score on test day . . . . .155!!!  A 155 marks the 64th percentile.  I have no idea how I pulled it off (but hey I’m not asking questions!)  In fact I was so surprised,I thought maybe LSAC had made a mistake, so I rushed to check my account online and it was consistent.  I’m very thrilled and this should get me into the schools I want to go to.  I think 155 is pretty good considering I started at 143 and was very limited for study time with work and school.  I told myself if I got a 155 I wouldn’t retake, and as such, it is unlikely I will retake the exam. 

I also got up the nerve to tell two attorneys at my firm what I was up to.  They seem genuinely excited for me which is a huge relief. One even offered to write a letter of recommendation for me attesting to my stellar legal skills and experience and dedication to the firm over the last five years. 

In a big way, this is very emotional for me.  I have had so many naysayers in my life tell me that law school (or just college for that matter) is for smart rich kids and I certainly do not fall into that category.  I’ve been told to brace myself because I’m chasing a dream that will not come true.  (In my head I’m flipping off all those people right now).  In a way, I’ve always felt like the underdog, and this is definitely a victory for me.  Basically, this short clip of the movie “Rudy” pretty much sums it up.

Thanks for all of your encouragement and I am so delighted to be moving on in the admissions process and closer to achieving and accomplishing my dreams.  2 years ago, I never would have thought any of this would be possible.

17 Comments

  1. Carissa said,

    Congratulations on your score!
    I’m in Sydney, Australia and will be sitting the LSAT in precisely 3 hours… I hope to do my best.
    Congrats again and all the best for your future legal career!

    • lawschooldreamer said,

      Thank you Carissa – best of luck to you! Let me know how it goes! I feel the pain you will soon endure with waiting for the lsat score. I’m curious – how did you find me from all the way in Sydney? : )

      • Carissa said,

        Thanks for the well wishes. So, what can I say about the LSAT? It was pretty intense… but to my own surprise, I wasn’t inflicting too much pressure on myself. I must have been at least a little nervous (without being conscious of it) because at the end I just felt like a whole heap of weight had been lifted off my shoulders.

        Now, let the waiting game begin!

        I subscribe to Google Alert for “LSAT” and your blog posts kept coming up, so one day I ventured to your blog (I think it was your “LSAT Dreams” blog that grabbed my attention) and found your posts quite an enjoyable read. Plus, it’s always enlightening to read about others experiencing what I am about to go through – thank you – so here I am reading your blog from halfway across the globe. We ought to thank the world wide web.

      • lawschooldreamer said,

        I’m glad it went well! I know the wait will be very difficult and there may be times where every 5 minutes your thinking about it. Hopefully the time will pass before you know it! Thanks for reading my blog and let me know how your scored!

  2. raspberrytorts said,

    Congrats! I remember the serious torture I went through when waiting for my LSAT score. It can get pretty intense. Just warning you, waiting for responses from schools is just as bad. In the end it’s all worth it, though (hopefully – I’ll let you know in a few months lol).

    • lawschooldreamer said,

      Can’t wait for my app cycle, but I’m sure your right, the suspense will kill me! Good luck to you and your law school acceptances!

  3. Practical Paralegalism said,

    Congratulations! I am so excited for you. It’s also great to hear that your supervising attorneys are supportive of your goals, and think highly of you and your work. I look forward to following your journey to law school. I have no doubt that your real world, hands-on work experience will take you to the top of the class.

    • lawschooldreamer said,

      Thanks! I kept my desire to do this from my attorneys for quite some time. I needed them to be somewhat flexible with my while I finish my undergraduate degree and felt that if I told them in the end they would lose me anyway they would be some what less cooperative. That, and I didn’t have total confidence that any of this was possible. I didn’t want to tell them I was going and then not be able to score decently on the lsat and just have egg on my face.

  4. Danielle said,

    many congrats to you for getting over the 140s hump. It really is a huge deal. It was for me as well. Best of luck in your upcoming application cycle 🙂 Just be sure not to sell yourself short in deciding not to retake. You are more than capable of getting into the top 10% of test-takers. This fall, You’ll probably land quite a few free apps from all the tiers, so at the very least, it won’t hurt to take a chance and see what happens.

  5. idwsj said,

    I’m so happy you got the results you wanted. CELEBRATION TIME!

  6. Paralegal Hell said,

    Congrats!!! 155 is a fantastic score and you should be so proud of yourself!
    I know I am 🙂

    • lawschooldreamer said,

      Thanks! I’m super excited and thrilled. I can’t believe I went from a 143-155 without prep courses and while working full time and full time school. Never before have I tackled such an intimidating task, but I’m very happy with my result and am even considering retaking (if my schedule will permit added prep). I do not believe that I have reached my plateau and may even have some untapped potential left for October. I’m trying to decide.

  7. Tonya S. Justice said,

    Congratulations! That is awesome, especially while juggling work and school full-time! How inspiring!

    • lawschooldreamer said,

      Thank you! It has been challenging but fulfilling! I’ve really proven to myself that I’m capable of doing even more than I ever imagined possible.

  8. Fridays From the Frontline » Clear Admit: Law School Admissions Blog said,

    […] School Dreamer anxiously awaited her LSAT score, momentarily wished not to see it, but, in the end, happily reported her result. 0L Miss-B balanced LSAT study prep with her continued Masters work. 0L Vodka Sours wondered if she […]

  9. Ron linville said,

    I will follow your story too. I had embarked years ago on a path that I thought was going to lead to where you are (almost) now. I took an evening paralegal course with an eye to Law.? And, at the time — cause you bet I researched it!– there were still several states that allowed people to take the Boards without going to law school, and I knew I was unlikely to ever have the $$ to do THAT….
    Well, things have tightened up as far as THAT loophole goes, and unfortunately my paralegal income DID stay as low as I thought it might. I have been out of paralegalism ( paralegality? Parahood?) fir a while now, very discouraged…. I’d like advice, but you’re probably too busy fir that. Any suggestions, though? At this point, the most obvious obstacle is my age: I’m 61…..

    • lawschooldreamer said,

      Ron,

      Call me naive, but I think anything that appears to be a hurdle will be a hurdle. You are not the only person I know of in their 60’s considering this path. If anything, you will be an even more desirable law school applicant as you are clearly not a fresh-out-of-college frat boy and have real world experience. ; )

      If you would like to contact me, please, feel free to shoot me an email to lawschooldreamer@gmail.com. I am more than happy to discuss this with you. (Same goes for anyone else who would rather not comment but would like to hear my thoughts and opinions). I am happy to help!

      Best,
      LawSchoolDreamer

Leave a Reply

