June LSAT = T Minus 21 Days

May 16, 2010 at 6:46 pm (LSAT Prep)

In approximatley 527 hours, 11 minutes and 46 seconds (as of this writing) I will be entering the LSAT test center with full confidence that all of my hard work has paid off and that my performance will be truly representative of my capabilities. I have worked hard and deserve the score I will receive.

I apologize for not updating everyone more regularly on my progress.  However, my LSAT diary has been featured on the “LSAT Blog: Ace the LSAT” website.   There, I share my progress, tips, realizations, and some additional information those who are preping for the LSAT may appreciate. 

As of this morning, my best timed LSAT score is 152.  This makes me a little nervous. My goal is to score a 160 and I’m not sure I can comftorably bridge this gap in 3 weeks. I have taken untimed practice tests within my goal range but obviously the time constraint makes it impossible to score as well as I would when taking untimed tests.  I do want to mention, however, that while some may feel taking untimed tests are a waste of time, I whole heartedly disagree.  During timed tests, I tend to rush myself and feel even more anxious since I know I’m being timed and the pressure is on.  Rather than learn and familiarize myself with the LSAT, I tend to enter panic mode and merely attack each question as quickly as possible with little skill or strategy.  I continued to take timed practice tests with little improvement in my score.  I then decided to take three practice tests without caring how long it took me to complete each one.  My basis for this was to simply approach each question and think logically about what I have learned through the Powerscore Bibles and really ask myself what is being asked of me.  If needed, I would allow myself to refer back to reading comp. passages and I always bracketed the conclusion (if present) in all of the logical reasoning stimuli.  This allowed me to develop a strategy, apply my learned skills, and become more confident that I really did know the best approach to getting the correct answer. 

Then, alas, my score jumped from 143 to 152 on the very next timed test I took.  I think as is with a lot of things in life, you have to slow down to go faster.  I have always been the type to rush things, rush progress, jump two feet in and for me, it hindered my ability to learn the skills needed to do well.  I was sacrificing quality for quantity and speed.  Now that I have improved the quality, I can focus on speed. I’ve also made a point to analyze my answer choices after I have scored my test.  By seeing why an answer choice was correct or incorrect I am learning to make better choices in the future.  I used to just be so frusturated that when I would score a test I would chuck it into my desk drawer vowing to never look at it again.  That is a waste.  The benefit of taking practice test can be two-fold if it is taken and then later reviewed.  Ace Test Preparation even helps you analyze which types of questions are throwing you off.  You input your answer choices into their online bubble sheet and it generates statistical information. 

I’m actually beginning to enjoy the challenge and I’ve always enjoyed learning new skills.  I’m very competitive, and the LSAT allows me to be competitive directly with myself.  I now have this drive where I feel compelled to see if I can outdue myself by upping my score.  This makes the progress challenging all the while fun.  Of course, its not fun to put work into something and receive negative feedback, which is sometimes inevitible.  But so far, I am feeling good about my progress.  I just hope I can continue this upward trend for the next 21 days.

Leave a Reply

